garden

when my day is overbrained
from three hundred topics explained
when i’ve poured out my souls
to help others build shoals
i must withdraw inside my shells
before cumulative chaos swells

i have a secret garden
the sands of time can’t harden
the birds flit about their trees
they come and go as they please
insects fly by or slowly creep
it gives my tea time to steep

i listen to the songs
sung by countless throngs
they carry me on their wings
to solace that it brings
like i have been sonically hugged
they plug me into the unplugged

within this secret garden
i receive an evening’s pardon
from the buzzing of the tech
and the many-splendored mech
enhancing people’ talents
requires a little balance

greens, browns, and grays grow
wispy whites in blue sky flow
these creatures make a thousand choices
among these to share their voices
colors imbue the viewscape
sounds infuse the soundscape

this is where i go
to remember the flow
that hides beneath the surface
and fuels the inner purpose
to connect with the outside
in this garden i abide

About Brad Werner

Technical Evangelist
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment