twenty-six

i hear it in my head
the alphabet
from eh to zed

it echoes in my head
when i close my eyes
and lay in bed

my fingers draw
letters in the air
but they do not linger there

as silent songs
they’re written
with secret
pencils hidden
in my hair

like two suits
of playing cards
the twenty-six
call to me

as i listen
to their song
from the letters
a jumble comes

then like gentle clouds
the words condense
and rain down
into my mind

and from the words
come messages
verse and riddle
which i mull

from the faint
and furious songs
little nuggets
i hope to cull

About Brad Werner

Technical Evangelist
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to twenty-six

  1. Bex says:

    Nice Brad. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

