blurb

a bold and dashing cover
might catch my eye
but i need to read
a boisterous blurb
to keep it

if what you seek
is a second peek
if you want me to look
inside your precious book
bring me a blurb
or not another word

while a book needs one
don’t spoil the fun
of how it’s done
i shall only shun
word of battles won

the blurb should please
but it should deftly tease
give me just a kiss
that hints at greater bliss
but that you can hide
until i look inside

i want a good read
that makes my heart bleed
my imagination it feeds
as it plants fertile seeds
of how the blurb unfolds

for once you have my eyes
down your road i’ll start
then you’ll likely win my heart
to learn each new surprise
of how plot blooms arise
as the garden
of your blurb blossoms

About Brad Werner

Technical Evangelist
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

