thirty-three and a third

thirty-three and a third
such rocking could be heard
when vinyl was the word

thirty-three and a third
years ago tonight
friends had taken flight
on snowflakes in the night

as the midnight neared
gathered throng cheered
for jockied songs revered

echoed one by one
the whole decade spun
jockey spinning fun

thirty-three and a third
years painted on plaster
compact ones spun faster
like gobstops everlaster

all ears were poised in reverence
as the countdown’s preference
played that ten years’ essence

a soothing voice like a dove
wings like an angel from above
realizing “I’m not in love”

at nineteen it’s no surprise
that “look in your eyes,
like black holes in the sky”

repeat, lather, rinse
dreams of big pigs like blimps
“I caught a fleeting glimpse”

“la la la la la,” i start to sing
about “the colors that you bring”
and now it soon is spring

thirty-three and a third plays in my mind
at first I thought “I was so blind”
“soon found out I was losing my mind”

simply didn’t know the rules
“living in a world of fools”
prizing stones ignoring jewels

those days couldn’t cop a rhyme
tried “blowing Dixie double four time”
so much changed in the meantime

who is to be or not to be free
“would you still remember me”
after a third and thirty-three

those who truly thought me batty
climbed the stairs to my belfry
“the only one[s] who could ever reach me”

“things you don’t understand”
lead you by the hand
’til you’re buried in the sand

all the world’s a stage once shown
lines like patterns then are prone
karmic rider “an actor out on loan”

finally “back from outer space”
so many dreams I’ve given chase
“hold my head up high” smile on my face

our own journeys we all steer
“when will those clouds all disappear?”
reveal islands green and skies aclear

years lived bridge bound as a troll
“We don’t need no thought control”
such “dark sarcasm” you extol

my own “dark desert highway”
such vibrant colors where some see gray
subtle zona “showed me the way”

fires off Orion’s shoulder see
“Oil wasted … upon our seas,
fish full of mercury”

what tea leaves dreams explain
“ease my worried mind” and brain
“before I finally go insane”

“is this the real life” tango
or “will you do the Fandango”
while sweetly sucking mangos

rabbit rabbit rabbit have you seen
beyond the veil beneath the sheen
a “spring clean for the may queen”

“imagine” dancing with the sky
verily “it’s easy if you try”
for yours is indeed to reason why

thirty-three and a third
such rocking could be heard
when vinyl was the word

twenty to one down they go
danced upon the dawn of disco
before the rise of dell and cisco

thirty-three and a third
years painted on plaster
compact ones spun faster
like gobstops everlaster

* About This Poem *

About Brad Werner

Technical Evangelist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to thirty-three and a third

  1. Pingback: About: thirty-three and a third | beyond the event horizon

Leave a Reply

